Finally!

Way back when I was a Brownie Girl Scout, I remember the first time we cooked our own dinner on a “coffee can” stove.  I don’t remember what we cooked, but I remember it tasting absolutely delicious. And I remember my Girl Scout leader (another girl’s mother) saying that was because we made it ourselves.  Even though that was most likely a ploy to get us to cook our own food, it turns out to be true…after almost 4 months, I finally harvested a tomato from my garden! And ohhh myyy goodness it is the best tomato I’ve ever tasted. I also managed to successfully grow a few cucumbers, the first of which I picked yesterday. So  with what I had left of the Georgia Sweet onions, I made my first dish with 100% home grown food!

IMG_20160825_112857.jpg
My mess of a garden

Tomato Cucumber Salad

Very similar to my Gazpacho Chicken, here is my recipes, scaled down for my ONE tomato.

  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced and quartered
  • 1/2 small sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 tomato, sliced and quartered
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp Basil
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Splash of red wine vinegar
IMG_20160823_111657
Took the leftovers to work as a side dish!

Mix, Chill, Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

