Game of Thrones Food Fest Part 1

So, I’m pretty excited for this post as it has been in the making for quite some time.  You see, I’ve recently become a bit of a Game of Thrones nerd, ever since my friend introduced my husband and myself to it and we binge-watched the first four seasons. I’ll preface the rest of this by saying I really didn’t get that into the details of what types of foods were available and popular in different parts of this world, but I did a little reading here to inspire me.

 

Spiced Chicken Wings

When Season 6 started, I decided to make wings for the premiere.  I wanted something that would remind me of the type of food the characters on the show might eat, so that eliminated barbecue or buffalo flavored. I found a Jamaican Jerk spice mix here, so I decided to give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • 12 chicken wings
  • Kosher or Himalayan Pink salt
  • 1/4 cup flour, seasoned with salt and pepper

Spice Mix:

-1 tablespoon garlic powder
-2 to 3 teaspoons cayenne pepper
-2 teaspoons onion powder
-2 teaspoons dried thyme
-2 teaspoons dried parsley
-2 teaspoons sugar
-2 teaspoons salt
-1 teaspoon paprika
-1 teaspoon ground allspice
-1/2 teaspoon black pepper
-1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
-1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
-1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
spices 1

To ensure the skin gets crispy, lay the wings out on a plate and sprinkle with the Kosher or Himalayan pink salt.  Let sit in the fridge for about an hour, then pat dry with a paper towel.

Preheat the oven to 475 degree F. Dredge the wings in the flour and place on a greased cookie sheet (a sheet instead of a deeper dish will also help the crisping process).  Then sprinkle the spice mix on all the wings and rub it in.  You can save any extra mix in a container or plastic bag.

Bake in the oven for ~20 min, or until cooked all the way through and the skin is crispy.

wings 1

 

“Kidney” Pie

This dish is referenced a couple of times in the series.  It’s name is due to the use of animal kidneys in the dish, however no need to scrunch up your nose, this dish is made with plain old steak.  I thought of it like a chicken pot pie, and after thinking of what veggies I’d like in it and a little research on making gravy, I came up with a hearty recipe- though I will admit I didn’t think it through to actually serving it…if possible I’d recommend making single served  pies because it’s not going to keep it’s shape once cut.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 T butter
  • 2 gloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1-2 carrots (~1/4 cup), chopped
  • 1-1.5 beef steak, cubed
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 2 T flour
  • red wine (for cooking and for drinking 😉 )
  • 1 canister of sheet dough
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 T basil
  • 1 T oregano

Preheat oven to 375 degree F.

In a large pan, melt 1/2 T butter.  Add garlic and onion.  Saute until onion starts to sweat. Meanwhile, season the beef with salt and pepper.  Add a splash of wine to the drained tomatoes and stir to soak.

Add green pepper and carrots to the pan and cook until just starting to get soft.  Then add beef and spices and cook 5-10 min.  The trick here is to not overcook it, since it will be going into the oven. About halfway through I added the wine-soaked tomatoes.

While beef cooks, lay out dough sheet over a greased pie dish, trimming off any excess.  I used the trimmings to make a criss-cross pattern on top of the pie later on.

pie1

For the gravy, melt 1/2 T butter in a pot.  Then add the beef broth and flour. Bring to a boil and whisk continuously until it thickens. If you’re so inclined, add a splash of wine here, too.  Why not?! Those Westerosi were always drinking wine, a little spillage is to be expected.

Scoop the beef and veggies onto the pie dough, trying not to add too much liquid.  Then ladle the gravy over top.  Here’s where I added my criss-crosses.

Finally, bake 15-20 min, until crust is golden brown.  And there you have it! Now you’re eating like a Stark.

pie 2.jpg

Next week: dessert!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

