Sauteed Mushrooms

Okay, I admit it, I have a weird love of mushrooms.  On a steak with onions , a salad, pizza, or sauteed by themselves, I’ll take ’em.  Normally when I saute them I add a bit of balsamic vinegar, but one night I decided I’d use a little teriyaki sauce.  However there was none to be found in the fridge, so I started playing around. (Side note:  who remembers the Mushroom Surprise from the book Wayside School is Falling Down, by Louis Sachar?  I promise this is nothing like that 😛 ) Here’s my concoction.:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup baby bella mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T honey
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

mush1

 

We were grilling out that night, so I decided to use an Asian BBQ sauce on the chicken, thinking the mushrooms would complement that nicely.

chicken and mushrooms 2

Chicken was delicious!  I was going to add in my grilled asparagus recipe, but to be honest it didn’t turn out that well….another time!

Leave a Reply

