Good Sisters Share their Bread Recipes

When I was engaged, I was given a recipe book from all of the lovely ladies who attended my bridal shower.  Over the years I’ve picked a new recipe to try here and there.  I’ve never been much of a baker, which is probably why I took so long to try this recipe from my sister.   Although it would have been easier B.T. (before toddler), as this took me almost an entire afternoon to do, I’m glad I finally did it!.  Just the smell of fresh bread in the house was worth it.

Ingredients

  • 3 cup bread flour
  • 2T sugar
  • 1/1/2 salt
  • 1 package yeast
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 water, lukewarm
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 egg white

Directions

  1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in water and let stand for 10 min
    1. Note: Yeast that is alive will apparently bubble and grow in volume.  Mine did not.  Or maybe my expectations were too high
  2. Mix all ingredients, except egg.  Knead dough for 15 minutes on a flowered surface
  3. Let rise 1 hour
  4. Punch down dough, let rest 10 min
  5. Form long log on (greased) cookie sheet
  6. Let rise until doubled in size (this didn’t happen for me either)
  7. Glaze with egg white and bake at 375 for 35-40 min

dough

Funny story – my directions did not specify to keep the egg white for the end, so I mixed it in with the rest of the ingredients.  Just goes to show there’s still some room to experiment with baking ingredients.  Or that you should read the whole recipe through once before you start, not sure which.  Anyway, I just brushed a bit of olive oil over the top and it all turned out fine. 🙂

onion dill bread

Serve with butter or cream cheese!

Leave a Reply

