Yoga and Salt

I’ve always loved doing yoga as a way to relax and well as strengthen my body.   It’s like an old friend I should see more often than I do.  So today, I’m visiting.

One day last summer, I went to one of those yoga in the park type deals.  There were 5 of us on an outdoor patio overlooking a  river.  I, of course, had trouble finding it and showed up a couple minutes late.  Trying to sneak in quietly, I fumbled with my mat and purse, dropping my water bottle with a loud clang.  So much for being subtle.

Anyone who does yoga regularly probably knows about many other positive effects each pose can have on the body, like building muscle strength (yoga arms!) and improving flexibility, but I wanted to learn more. Some quick research listed a myriad of benefits.  Downward dog is not only a good stretch and base point, it can improve circulation and digestion. It also improves bone density.1 2

Well, below is my attempt.  And while I’m at it, might as well have some fun with the camera.

 

In the class, I learned that I had a lot of work to do perfecting even this basic move.  It had been a long time since I had practiced in a class, so it came as a bit of a shock to me when I felt a hand moving my heel very slightly into a more accurate position. But hey, practice makes perfect, right?  At the end of the class everyone was handed a green smoothie that was loaded with healthy things.  I don’t remember what was all in it, but it was delicious.  And I’m always looking for healthy snacks to eat.

Something new I’ve added to my diet is Himalayan pink salt.  While I have no doubt people have been using it for many years, I was first introduced to it last year by a coworker who mentioned how flavorful it was. So of course I had to try it, and it was definitely true!  Not only that, but I barely had to use any to get a punch of flavor.  I use it on roasted veggies and as seasoning on chicken, but my favorite use has to be on homemade popcorn.

 

Photo fun: Can you tell which one is the real color of pink salt? 

But there’s more to pink salt than flavor. When compared to regular table salt, it is so much better for you.  There are generally no additives, and it contains over 80 minerals that can benefit overall health such as removing toxins, regulating pH levels, and improving nutrient absorption.3 Happy healthy and flavorful eating to you!

  1. http://www.gaia.com/article/5-hidden-benefits-downward-facing-dog
  2. http://www.self.com/flash/fitness-blog/2013/01/6-health-benefits-from-downward-dog
  3. http://organics.org/table-salt-vs-himalayan-sea-salt-whats-the-difference/

 

 

Leave a Reply

