Meatloaf Like Mom Used to Make

January 13, 2014

I’m not normally a huge meatloaf fan, but this recipe hits the spot on a cold day. My husband likes it so much he compares it to his mother’s meatloaf…yes he’s very cliche…but it’s true.  I used beef broth only because I didn’t have wine on hand. I imagine that would be even tastier!

Burgundy Meatloaf (Slow Cooker Recipes by Gooseberry Patch)

2 lbs ground beef

2 eggs

1 c bread crumbs

1 onion, chopped

1/2 cup beef broth or Burgundy wine

1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped

1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

5 slices of bacon

1 bay leaf

8 oz can of tomato sauce.

Combine all ingredients except bacon, bay leaf, and tomato sauce in a bowl.  Criss-cross 3 bacon strips on a 12 inch square of aluminum foil.  Form meat mixture into a loaf on top of the bacon.  Layer the remaining bacon on top of the loaf and add bay leaf to the top.  Cook on high in slow cooker for 1 hour, then turn down to low for 4 more hours.  Remove bacon and bay leaf, and serve with warmed tomato sauce over top.

DSCN2190

My changes:

Not reading ahead, I didn’t have fresh basil or parsley.  Dried flakes work just fine.

I also added my own spices to the tomato sauce:  salt, pepper, sugar, basil, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder.  I always prefer to do this to taste.  In this case, I made the sauce a little sweeter.

I tend to only get small increments of time to prepare meals these days, so I loved being able to put this in the crock pot and forget about it.   Closer to dinner, I boiled some noodles and spiced them with basil, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, and olive oil.   Freshly grated Parmesan cheese topped it all off.

Just like Mom used to make
Just like Mom used to make
Leave a Reply

