2014 – getting back in the groove with a pork roast

Dec 31, 2013

Hey all,

So, it’s been quite a while since I’ve made a post here.  It’s been quite a busy year that included traveling for 3 weddings, moving into a new place, and having our first baby.  All this action, while exciting, unfortunately meant some things fell by the wayside.

Now, I’ve never been particularly good at making or keeping new year resolutions.  However I’ve really enjoyed doing these posts, if even just for myself. So besides losing the remainder of this baby weight, I’m going to give it another shot this year. 🙂  What better way to start off than with a classic New Year’s meal, right?  After doing a bit of recipe searching online, I took a few ideas and combined them into my own recipe.  It’s a simple slow cooker meal (expect to see more of those with a newborn around), but I think it turned out well.

Ingredients

2 lb pork roast

32 oz package of sauerkraut

10 baby red potatoes

1 package of dry onion soup mix

1/2 cup of red wine

1 cup of water

3 cloves of garlic, sliced

your favorite dry rub, to taste

The first thing I did after trimming off some excess fat was to generously sprinkle the roast with my rub.  The one I used was from Penzeys spices, called “33rd and Galena”.   It’s basically pepper, paprika, nutmeg, sage, cayenne , crushed red pepper, and basil.

Then I made some crisscross cuts (less than a half inch deep) and stuck in the garlic evenly across the top.

the before pic
the before pic

Then, I mixed the water, onion soup, and wine in a bowl.  I put the roast, potatoes, and sauerkraut in the crock pot and poured the mixture over top.  I cooked it on low for 6 hours, but I recommend doing 8 in order to ensure the potatoes and garlic are thoroughly cooked (we got impatient).

the after picture
the after picture

Hope everyone has a fantastic 2014!

Yum- Happy New Year!
Yum- Happy New Year!
Leave a Reply

