Holiday Treat – Dark Chocolate Truffles

December 23, 2012

As evidenced by my food posts so far, I don’t bake very often.  But around the holiday season, the cookie bug usually bites.  This year I wanted to do something besides my usual snickerdoodles, so I started searching the internet  for something new and exciting.

That’s when I came across this dark chocolate truffle recipe.  Although not technically a cookie, it seemed like a festive enough idea.  And my coworkers seemed to enjoy them anyway.  They’re super easy.  The link is below, along with, as always, my experience.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/dark-chocolate-truffles-recipe/index.html

Ingredients:

The only ingredients needed
The only ingredients needed

Heat 1/2 cup of heavy cream on medium-low heat until it simmers.  Pour over 8 oz of the dark chocolate.  (I used 60%, not 70, and I just bough the chips, instead of trying to chop chocolate.)  Cover and let sit for about 10 minutes.

Mix in the vanilla and stir until chocolate is smooth.

melted dark chocolate...mmmmm
melted dark chocolate…mmmmm

Let the chocolate cool to room temperature (about an hour, or until you can mold into balls).  Scoop the mixture into balls, and roll in the cocoa powder.  This was the tricky part.  I found that using a measuring spoon (teaspoon size) and a regular spoon to loosen it worked well.

If you are not eating these right away, refrigerate them.  When you take them out of the fridge, let them sit for about an hour before serving.

My dark chocolate truffles
My dark chocolate truffles

Happy baking, and Merry Christmas!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

