Easy and delicious dinner – had to share

December 9, 2012

I tried a new recipe from my slow cooker book tonight and had to share.  I made a few adjustments, but the original recipe is below as well.

Kielbasa & Red Beans (Slow Cooker Recipes, Goose berry patch)

1 lb Kielbasa

4-5 16 oz cans of kidney beans

2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes

1 onion, chopped

hot pepper sauce to taste

Here are my changes:

Turkey kielbasa instead of pork, to attempt to make it a bit healthier (this was a compromise between myself and the hubby when we were in the grocery store). It was just under a pound.

Only 2 cans of kidney beans.  4 just seemed excessive.

About 1/3 of an onion instead of a whole one, because that was all I had left

I added about a 1/4 of a green pepper, chopped.  Just to use it up.

I didn’t have hot pepper sauce.  So, I used chili powder (I didn’t measure, but if I were to guess I’d say 1/2 a teaspoon), salt and pepper to taste.

Combine all ingredients in crock pot.  Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4.

Before Pic:

kielbasa in the slow cooker

After Pic– Served over rice

Kielbasa and bean dinner

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

