Simple Spanish Rice

October 21, 2012

I love using my crockpot to make dinner, mainly because it is so easy, but also because I have a slow-cooker recipe book by Goose berry Patch, with soo many dishes to try.    One of the first things I tried, which quickly became a favorite, was a spanish rice recipe.    Now that we are firmly planted in the fall season, it seemed time to break out this dish again.  However, I remembered that with my early start to the work day and my husband’s later end, by the time we ate dinner the rice was a pile of mush.  And although it still tasted good, the strange texture was something I wanted to remedy.  So this time I decided to make it all on the stovetop.  It may be a bit more work than throwing everything into a crockpot, but it was still simple to do.  I used this opportunity to cut down on the ingredients since there are only 2 of us, and add some of my own variations to the flavor.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef (use turkey for a healthier option)

1 small onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

14.5-oz can of petite diced tomatoes

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp salt

pepper to taste

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 packet of taco seasoning

1 cup of uncooked rice

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I like extra sharp!)

First, brown the beef and drain.  While you are doing that, in a separate pan, saute the onions and green peppers.

Cooking up a storm
Being artistic with the camera 😛

Once the beef has been drained and the onions are clear, stir in the green pepper and onion, tomatoes, and about a 1/4 cup of water into the beef pan.   Then mix in the taco seasoning, chili powder, salt, and Worcestershire sauce.  This is also a good time to start making your rice.

All of the ingredients (minus the rice)

Allow the mixture to simmer about 15 minutes.  Serve over rice and sprinkle with cheddar cheese. I believe this made about 5 servings for us.  We usually eat a salad beforehand so we don’t overload on the main meal, but this is also very filling!

Yum!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

