Sunflowers and Ice Cream

September 16, 2012

As summer comes to a close, I find myself torn emotionally.  On the one hand, I love the crisp air, red and orange leaves falling from the trees, and pumpkin spiced lattes, pumpkin seeds, pumpkin…anything really.  But on the other hand I wish we could have just one more hot weekend so that I could lay out on the beach one more time.  So, in tribute to summer, and because we had nothing else to do,  the hubby and I made our own homemade ice cream.  And I bought some flowers.  And I took pictures of these two events.   This time I had some fun with the coloring.  Enjoy!

Chocolate Oreo Ice Cream

We made this using a recipe from Cuisinart.   We learned one important lesson when making ice cream.  Read the directions ahead of time!  http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ls8kTNx%2BS.pdf

The ingredients–do not just stir everything together all at once!
All mixed up before going in the ice cream maker. This took a while since I didn’t follow directions.
Finished product, after we had to put in in the freezer for 2 hours…since we didn’t follow the directions, we didn’t freeze the mixing bowl long enough!

Pictures of Sunflowers..because who doesn’t like sunflowers!

This one was decapitated! My attempt to save it…

Leave a Reply

