A Less than Traditional Easter Dinner

April 5, 2012

When I was growing up, we ate dinner as a family every night. My parents liked to cook, so we rarely at anything that came out of a box.  With all of the different variations of chicken, beef, stir frys, etc, there were always a few meals that were the same: the holiday meals.  Of course this included Easter, when we would pile into the car and drive to my grandmother’s house for Easter ham.

My first year as a married woman, I kept on with the tradition of ham on Easter.  But, with only two of us, even a small ham left us with a lot of leftovers. When I brought this up to a coworker, she suggested I try something different –Cornish game hens.   I’d never made anything like this before, but I thought why not?  At worst, if it doesn’t turn out, it’s a funny story for you to read.

I did a little online research, pulling bits and pieces from online websites before coming up with my own recipe.

http://homecooking.about.com/od/chickenrecipes/r/blpoul83.htm

http://homecooking.about.com/od/chickenrecipes/r/blpoul81.htm

www.finecooking.com/recipes/truffle-scented-cornish-game-hens-prosciutto-wild-mushrooms.aspx

And finally, here’s my recipe:

Herb Roasted Cornish Game Hen with Veggie Stuffing

Ingredients:

2 Cornish game hens

1 -2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp butter

dash of salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary, paprika (approx 1/4 tsp of each– I didn’t really measure)

Stuffing:

1 small zucchini

2 oz sliced mushrooms

1 shallot

1/4 cup onion

1/4 cup italian-style bread crumbs (If I did this again I would do a bit less)

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

2 tbsp butter

salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary, to taste

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Rinse hens inside and out.  Sprinkle inside with a bit of salt.  Set aside

Stuffing:

3.  Chop up zucchini, mushrooms, shallot, and onion.  I chopped mine pretty finely, but you could go bigger if you wanted.

4.  Saute veggies (with pat of butter) on med-low heat until onions are clear.

5.  Reduce heat to low.  Add cheese, breadcrumbs, and rest of the butter.  Season with spices and mix thoroughly.  It should look something like this:

Veggie Stuffing

6.  Spoon stuffing into hens.  Tie legs together with kitchen wire or cooking string.

7.  Melt butter for hens with garlic.  Baste hens. Sprinkle with flour, salt, pepper, rosemary, and finally, paprika.  Here’s what mine looked like just before going into the oven.

Ready to go!

8.  Place on roasting pan and bake for 1 hr 15 min (I didn’t have an instant thermometer, but if you do I think it should go up to 165 degrees.  Don’t quote me on that).

I served  mine with steamed broccoli and mashed potatoes.

Side dishes

And here’s the final product!

Hens!
time to eat!

Enjoy, Happy Easter, and happy cooking!

One Comment Add yours

  1. trialsinfood says:

    Looks delicious! It’s a start of a new Easter tradition.

    Like

Leave a Reply

