Early Thanksgiving Dinner

November 22, 2011

A few weeks ago, I decided to finally make the turkey that’s been sitting in my freezer for way longer than I’d like to admit…I figure, it’s close to the holidays, so I can have fun with it, and if I mess it up, no one else needs to eat it…besides my husband. He knows better.J

I really enjoy cooking, and this is the biggest project I’ve ever taken on, so I thought it’d be a good first cooking post.

Since there’s just the two of us, the turkey is just an 8 lb breast.  Here’s a fun fact:  besides being delicious, turkey legs are also useful for keeping the turkey straight on the roasting rack.  Otherwise, the turkey just keeps flopping over on its side.  It’s alright, though, I managed.

You can always count on mom and dad to steer you in the right direction.  Their suggestion for turkey prep:  melted butter spread all over, then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and flour ( for a crunchy skin).  You can also add paprika for color.  Then put in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes per pound.

Waiting for turkey…

Might as well go all out right?  So I decided to make a vegetable casserole that’s I’ve made before…I got the recipe from my bridal shower recipe book. (thanks girls!)  I also thought I’d try my hand at mashed potatoes, because strangely, I’ve never made them before.  It’s a pretty simple food, and I like to cook, so I can’t figure that one out…but I digress.  Here’s the ingredients for the casserole.

Vegetable Casserole:

1 Zucchini

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 Tomato

1 Small Onion

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp garlic

¼ tsp basil

Pepper

4 slices mozzarella  (or 4 oz shredded)

¼ cup of parmesan cheese

Directions:

Thinly slice all vegetables

Lay in 9X9 baking dish, using zucchini as a base and placing onions on last.

Add spices and cheese

Bake covered with aluminum foil at 375 degrees for 30 minutes, then uncover and cook for 10 additional minutes.

For more even flavor, add a portion of the spices after between the zucchini and other veggies.  Enjoy!

Waiting some more for the turkey…wine makes the time go faster!

In the end, the turkey was done a little bit before the casserole, and waaay before the potatoes (they were still boiling!)  It was ok though, because turkeys need to sit for a few minutes to lock in the juices, so in the end, all the food was on the table at the same time…

Here’s how my holiday dinner turned out

Even though it was fairly small as turkeys go, I still had a lot of leftovers.  So, I’ll be using my leftover turkey to make turkey noodle soup!  Check back for that recipe in an upcoming post.

Until next time,

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

