Cheesy Potato Soup

Hello again!

Today’s recipe is Cheesy Potato soup, from Slow Cooker Recipes by Gooseberry Patch, a book I received at my wedding shower.  There are a lot of easy yet tasty recipes in there, so I highly recommend it for anyone that would like to learn some new dishes.

There are several reasons why I love this soup:

  • First of all, it’s perfect for cooler weather as the season changes from fall to winter.
  • Secondly, it’s a recipe that can be changed to fit your needs or preferences.   It doesn’t even take a normal 8 to 10 hours of cooking in a crockpot.
  • And thirdly, my husband loves anything to do with potatoes, so I knew this was a recipe he would love.

Here are the ingredients from the book:

  • 2 -½ lbs. russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup cooked ham, cubed
  • 3-4 green onions, sliced
  • 2 10 -¾  oz. cans of cream of chicken soup
  • 10-3/4 oz can of ccream of mushroom soup
  • 8 oz. container sour cream with chives
  • 8 oz. container sour cream
  • 2-3 cups finely shredded mild Cheddar cheese,
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I made the following adaptations:

  1. I used red potatoes because that’s what I had around the house (I also like them better than russet).  I also did NOT peel them, because the skin contains a lot of vitamins and other nutrients.  You can read more about potato skin nutrients here.  You may never peel another potato ever again—what a timesaver!
  2. I used one 16 oz container of fat free sour cream instead of 2 8 oz containers, and I also bought plain instead of with chives
  1. I used about 5 green onions instead of 3-4.

These changes made this cheese-filled soup a little bit healthier, which is always a good thing.

The rest is pretty simple.  Cover the potatoes with water and bring to a boil.  Then let them simmer until tender.  Pour into your crock pot, and add all of the other ingredients, except the salt and pepper.

I used a 9 oz ham steak for the meat, and when I was slicing the onions, I continued slicing all the way down the green, and used that for chives.

Cook on high for 2-3 hours or on low for 4-6 hours.  Add your desired amount of salt and pepper.  Depending on who you’re feeding, you can get up to 8 servings out of this.

Enjoy!

Careful, it's hot!

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

